Banish January blues

There are few things to be cheerful about in January. Short days, cold weather without the added comfort food binge we’ve become accustomed to in the hazy days of over indulgence around Christmas and New Year. It is a time when I like to bury myself in lovely things to cheer me up the January gloom. With this in mind I’ve put together a pick of a few delights to brighten up the blues of the new year.

I was lucky enough to awake to find that Father Christmas had brought me a lovely St Eval’s candle in my stocking on Christmas morning. Joy is certainly something I could do with when I’m knee deep in revision hell and St Eval’s hand poured candle in Cornwall boasts an impressive 45 hours of burning time. It has a ‘light floral fragrence based on mimosa’, yummy.

joy candle

 

http://www.stevalcandlecompany.co.uk/

I have a confession. I am a sucker for a nice bone china tea cup, I am a secret tea snob and I love loose leaf tea, even though it is a bit of a faff- it tastes soo much better! For mugs I rate Emma Bridgewater, but McClaggan Smith offers a much finer china that is perfect for lighter teas such as jasmine – which I lucky enough to receive in loose leaf form for Chistmas from my lovely boyfriend even though he described it as tasting like ‘rabbit food’.

McClaggan Smith is a Scottish company that hand fires and decorates all mugs in Scotland. They have a virtual plethora of deigns online, I have had them personalised and sent to my Grandparents who were delighted to get them. The Literature student within me is crushing on this Jane Austen illustrated style, so cuuute.

pd38_l

 

http://www.msmugs.com/

 

Finally, to mark the tenth anniversary of the cult teen classic Mean Girls, a jewellery line from Stella & Bow has been launched in their honour. SO FETCH. Treat yourself, or your very best frenemy to one of these bracelets. The Burn Book collection is sure to boost anyones mood this January.

http://stellaandbow.com/

op

 

 

Leave a comment